Entered on 2001-09-05 at 8:07 a.m..

It�s DONE!!

I finished my simulation yesterday! Actually finished is a strong word. Better to say that my simulation be came minimally functional yesterday. Simulation programs are never done. Either way it felt really good to have actually finished a project during my internship. Now I�m in the boring process of writing it up so that others can understand it. I feel as if I�m back in AE3010 Note: AE 3010 = Fluids Lab The class with the single most tedium in the AE curriculum. But as I said, the hard part is done.

For those of you who haven�t been keeping up with the weather lately, I don�t think it has stopped raining in Houston for over a month now. So Sarah I have to know, what is it like to deal with constant rain? If I were you, I�d look at it as Houston mourning your loss. That is of course, unless the rain follows you on your drive across the country. That would just be a sign that you are cursed for some reason.

The weather here in DC has been beautiful recently, heck all summer. I guess I haven�t been �North� in a few years. I seem to remember it being warmer, oh well. It could easily be because now I come in by 7:30 and then don�t really get out of doors again until 6:30. I just checked the weather in Cranfield: Partly cloudy and high of 67. Well it looks like the heat wave is still on over there.

For those of you who are curious about the contents of a typical Irish kitchen, Jen O� has been generous enough to describe one for me in her journal. I�ve listed the text below to make things easier.

in answer to karen's question - an irish kitchen contains the following items:

* a refrigerater/ freezer - much smaller than the american version, but probably the people you stay with will eat less than your american friends did, and everything (and i do mean everything) comes in smaller containers in ireland, so the smaller size was never a problem for me. my freezer in ulc was always more packed than the one we had in ireland. no icemaker, but why would you want ice?

* a "cooker". you will notice that there is a switch to turn the cooker on and off. this is to save electricity. i'm not quite sure what the theory behind that is. the cooker contains a stove ( some gas, some electric), a grill, and an oven. the grill is very handy. things you would normally fry can be grilled, and they are much healthier, and things you would normally cook in the oven can be grilled, much faster.

* probably no dishwasher in student housing - wealthier (as in middle - upper middle class) people have them, but not students. irish people believe students should be poor, and live accordingly.

* probably no microwave. same comments apply as for the dishwasher. however, you never know, of the four student type houses i lived in in ireland, one of them actually had a dishwasher.

* electric kettle. irish people consider this an absolute necessity, for making tea of course.

* most likely a toaster - also necessary for the toast that goes with your tea. if there is no toaster, of course, you can always use the grill to cook your toast. other than that, i think the appliances are basically the same. but i'm sure i've forgotten something.

previous - next