Entered on 2001-10-17 at 8:49 a.m..

Movies

It seems that Tuesday night is cheap movie night around here. So last night Flo, Lan, a bunch of the Air Transport folk and I all headed in to Milton Keynes to watch American Pie 2. I'm glad I went on "cheap" night. The movie still cost the equivalent of a normal US student ticket.

We went to the big entertainment center in town, which is across from the big food center and the big shopping center which is all that exists in Milton Keynes. The theater was very nice, modern with stadium seating and high back chairs.

The movie was as you'd expect if you've seen the first American Pie. I laughed really hard, both at the movie and at the reaction of the Italian guy next to me to the character Natia. Strangely enough in the middle of the movie I forgot that I was a few thousand miles East of home. Only when the movie ended and all of the British accents washed over me did I remember. Very strange.

In other news. I'm happy to say that human nature is the same everywhere. Originaly we were heading to the 7:30 movie, but with 14 of us, we got tickets for the 9:00. This meant down to the nearest pub to kill a few hours. Once there, I began to hear the familiar moaning about how there were no women at Cranfield. Aparently the new students this year are 90% male.

Well, anyway I find it rather amusing when the guys complain that there aren't any women when they are sitting in a pub surrounded, by what must be several dozen women (some of whom must be single and the right age). Nope these guys want to be able to pick and choose only the best looking, and they want the women to line up for them. Fairly universal I'd say.

previous - next