Entered on 2001-10-24 at 9:00 a.m..

Thought of the day

Everyday I listen to the BBC on the radio to try and make sense out of the randomness that they claim is a weather reaport, and to catch some of the news. Well every morning before the news they have someone come on and give a 5 minute "Thought of the Day." Usually it is some sort of religious leader, and yesterday it was a Baptist minister. Now I have nothing against Baptist ministers, its just that I have trouble taking one seriously when he speaks with a British accent. I mean, it just isn't right. They ought to put up a fund so that all the Baptist ministers in the world can go to the US and pick up a good 'suthern' accent.

I also want to take a moment and talk about my roomates. Yesterday was one of those horrible nonproductive, why am I doing this, days. By the time I got home my brain was fried, and the short nap and constant banging my head against a wall hadn't managed to reset it all day. But after spending an evening of Tesco's (Britian's Wal-mart) and talking with them I felt much better. First there is David, desparately trying to learn English. Who is as sweet,polite, and clean cut as any good Catholic mother could want. Last night as he was hunched over his grammar book he asked me why it was we say "all day", "all month", "all year", but say "all the time." Why don't we say "all the day."

Then there is Flo the anthisis of all German stereotypes that didn't come off of Hogan's Heros. He is generous, non-punctual, and terribly funny. I've never met someone who laughed more at himself and with others.

More on Lanre later, when he comes home from the Library.

On a second positive note, I managed to finally purchase a working alarm clock! It even has a radio, so now I don't have to drag my headphones around with me all over my room. This makes getting dressed much easier.

One last note on the weather. It has been beautiful here for the past two days. Mostly sunny during the day, highs in the lower 60s with a slight breeze. Unfortunately it likes to rain every night between 5-6 so that I always have to walk home in the rain.

previous - next