Entered on 2001-10-25 at 8:46 a.m..

'Football in the Mud'

Yesterday afternoon, I began my new career as intrepid reporter for Entropy, the student run monthly magazine. I was to "cover" both the SoE football championship and the reall cranfield football match. All further references to football are Soccer, and American football will be football. This of course is the one day that I have a lecture, so I arrived at both games late. I went to official cranfield football first, and was bored, so quickly headed over to the SoE games. These were all the different MSc courses playing each other and the PhDs/Staff team. It was a beautiful day, not a cloud in the sky, but then as predicted at about 4:30 it began to rain. It rained for the better part of an hour. The fields were one big mudd pit. I have never laughed so hard in all my life. It was like watching people play football on ice. I thought surely someone was going to become hurt, and sure enough one rather vain Italian did. It looked like just a sprained ankle. Nothing too serious.

This was football american style. The fields were about the size of a basket ball court, and they were playing 5 minute halves. Keep things fast and furious. Despite the new rules, football is football and sure enough a number of the matches ended in a tie with penalty kicks to determine who won.

As I said it was classic. Everybody was covered from head to toe in mud. I was very thankful for my red rubber shoes and my waterproof coat.

I have pictures. I'll post them later.

previous - next