Entered on 2001-10-26 at 9:07 a.m..

Car?

The rain is back, but it is supposed to be sunny by Saturday. This is good because on Saturday I'm going to Oxford! I'll get to meet up with some of my new Marshall friends, and see the sights. Pretty much anything one can do to leave Cranfield on the weekend is welcome.

Mom: The finger that I sprained in practice on Wednesday is almost completely better today, so not to worry.

On to cars. Cranfield is a rather isolated place. Of course I knew that before coming here. Unlike Atlanat where it was possible (just extremely time consuming) to walk somewhere, here it is dangerous. The speed limit on country roads (two lane with lines) is 60 mph. People constantly tell me that I shouldn't walk to the village, and riding my bike in their opinion isn't much better. Some guy got killed two years ago. Everyone wants to know when I'm going to buy a car. During the week buses run about once an hour, but take an hour to get to either Milton Keynes or Bedford. On the weekends buses run about every two hours from 9-5 and take the same time.

Well I bought the British equivalent to a consumer reports magazine and have narrowed my choices down to four. A Ford Ka, Ford Fiesta, Vauxhall Corsa, or a Nissan Micra. I'm leaning toward either a Ford Fiesta or a Nissan Micra. For those of you who would like to help me with this endeavour, my price range is between �2000 and �3000, but I'd like to spend about �2500. Take a look at http://www.parkers.co.uk and have fun.

The next problem after deciding which car I should choose is finding that car. I'd like to buy one from either a dealer or from a used car super-store. Of course I don't know where any of these are, or how to get there.

previous - next