Entered on 2001-10-31 at 10:29 a.m..

Halloween

Whoohoo, the network connection is back up! Here I am in England on an absolutely georgious day. The sky is mostly sunny with white puffy clouds. It is cold though. Last night the wind was blowing so hard, I thought I was in Kansas or something.

Well it's Halloween. For the first time in my life, I think that it is just going to slip by. There is a costume party on Thursday, but I don't have any costume material. I was going to do something, but was then told that all Halloween costumes here have to be scary. In the US as long as you look out of place, you are fine. So I'm not sure what I should do. No one seems particularly into the dressing up spirit around here.

One of the guys in my lab, did bring in a pumpkin. It was huge. We carved a rather scary face in it and put it in the window. The good news is that it turns dark about 5pm here, so we can light it before we go home for a few hours.

Things are heating up on me in Thesis terms. By the time I come home for Christmas I should have a working outline of what I'm going to do along with a timeline. I spoke with my adivsor to day and we had a rather productive session batting about ideas.

Together we've come up with some pretty interesting ones, but I keep thinking to myself, I can't do that. I haven't the foggiest idea how to do that. We'll see if he manages to trick me into learning stuff (which would be really interesting, but way beyond my current capabilities).

previous - next