Entered on 2001-11-06 at 8:33 a.m..

Guy Fawkes Night

Last night was Guy Fawkes night. From what I can tell around 1604 Guy Fawkes, a catholic, decided to blow up parliament (a protestant institution at that point). Well he was caught and beheaded eventually. Ever since then, however the populace has been celebrating by burning Guy Fawkes, or the pope in effigy, and generally celebrating.

Last night was no exception. The advertisements said that there would be a bonfire and fireworks. So I'm thinking to myself, 'smores.' No way, the bonfire itself had a base with 30 foot diameter. It was full of pallets and old office furniture. At about 100 yards away we were kept very warm.

The fireworks were somewhat less spectacular. I described them as fireworks for the blind, because they made far more noise than light display.

Now, on a completely different note.

I'm rather disapointed that Becca's itinerary down the East coast this holiday season, does not inculde a stop in Poquoson. And I am rather worried about a Canary yellow Becca and Diane trying to paint something other than themselves.

previous - next