Entered on 2001-11-14 at 8:05 a.m..

Baking Funny

As with most things over here, they seem similar but the subtleties make for lots of humor. The latest example of this came with the introduction of chocolate chipless cookies that I brought in to work on Monday.

One of the girls was particularly fond of them, so because I had a copy of the recipe handy, I emailed it to her. It was only after I had hit the send button, that it was a very American recipe. I called over my "wall" to her and told her that I had sent the recipe, but that in the US we measure all ingredients volumetrically. She seemed ok, with that comment, and so I elaborated. I explained that we measure flour and sugar the same way we measure milk and water. At this she finally understood. I said, "so you'll just have to use a lot of cups."

Then I added, "do you know what a cup is?" With out waiting for a response I asked, "do you guys use a cup as a unit of measurement?" To this she replied, only in bras. The wonderful image of a person using a bra to measure out flour suddenly jumped to my mind (and apparently the rest of the office as well). The entire female your portion of the office began laughing rather heartily.

Just a fun story that I thought I should share.

previous - next