Entered on 2001-11-20 at 5:24 p.m..

Pitch Dark Days

Ever notice how philosophical conversations always seem to happen late at night. Well the good news is that because it is completely dark outside around 4:30 in the afternoon here, you can have a good deep conversation at about 5:10 pm.

Anthony, Professor Allerton's other student, and I were discussing the trials and tribulations of settling in on a Thesis topic. We are both rather overwhelmed, and he even has a nice contract list of tasks to choose from. The good news is that I feel I can relate to him more, because I found out today that he isn't married. I'm not sure why I feel less able to relate to married students, I just do.

I'm actually really quite pleased with the other students who have just started their Ph.Ds with me. Four of us, Anthony, Jason, Angie and I are all at about the same age and place in life. There are a few others who are older, but they are also very intersting people. I get along well with all of them, but the older students have different fears and worries than the newbies. Lack of a common fear makes bonding more difficult.

OK, back to my pile of papers.

previous - next