Entered on 2001-11-27 at 9:51 a.m..

Visitors

OK, the visitors are all gone :( back to life as normal. Just to recap, Becca came in two Thursdays ago, we met up with Ir for the weekend, they continued to party in London, while I came home. As they were departing on Tuesday, Brian took off to come here. After many hours on a plane (which for some unknown reason flew to London via Chicago), and then a few more on a bus finally arrived in Cranfield Wednesday evening.

Brian and I had a great visit, promptly started by the making of pumpkin and apple pies. This was quite a feat, because Brian had to smuggle into England a can of pumpkin and a bunch of pie tins. I acutally made crust from scratch, and all of the pies were edible. Everyone here thought that they were very good, and suggested that I should continue to bake for every American holiday. On Thursday Brian and I had the lovely meal which is pictured in the previous entry. The pre-stuffed turkey breast turned out rather well I thought.

On Friday it was of to St. Albans for the two of us. St. Albans is an ancient roman city, where the first christian martyr (St. Alban) was killed for giving shelter to a priest. Any way the town had a cathedral, roman ruins, museums, a georgian house where royalty used to live and more according to the guide books. Well, it was a very nice, traditional English town (lots of old houses right next to each other). Unfortunately most of the stuff in the guide books were not open in the winter time. We spent a lot of time on buses finguring this out, but we had a great time. There was a great market on Saturday, and I managed to get a lot of my christmas shopping done.

The weekend went by very quickly. On Sunday morning, Brian and I went to a restraunt called The Waffle House No, it was not yellow inside an old water mill. We had the best meal I have yet eaten in England. I had a waffle with bannanas and cinnamon sugar and Brian had one with black cherries. Wonderful...

Becca I had to add that for you

On Monday I went back to work, and Brian went out to explore the wilds of Bedford, having had enough public transit over the weekend, opted out of the 6 hour trek to the airplane museums... We'll go next time.

This morning rather reluctantly I put Brian back onto a shuttle to the bus station, and he's off to London. It was great to have visitors, but now its back to work. Less than a month until I put myself onto a shuttle for the airport...

previous - next