Entered on 2001-12-12 at 8:39 a.m..

Train to Back from London

I'm sick! Sick, Sick, Sick. I feel as if my head is going to explode. Yes, for those of you who have lived with me it is time for Karen's birthday sinus infection. This is a consequence of having a birthday during finals week. I seriously though that this year I was going to get away without it. I was doing so well. I had had a mild cold a week ago, but thought it was gone on Sunday. By Monday afternoon, wham, sick Karen.

Despite the on-coming cold I went to London last night for a Marshall reception in the Foreign Office (equivalent to the State Department, but more alcohol). Since I had skipped the Thanksgiving dinner, I felt I should at least make an appearance and let everyone know that Cranfield had not gobbled me up. I drove my car (by myself) to the train station, and took the train down. The reception was great fun and after 1 glass of white wine and more orange juice that I think it is advisable to dring in 2 hours, I headed home. It was good to see everyone again, and to talk to some of us with similar problems/challenges. I met two very cool women from a year before me. One is studying in Cardiff, Whales and the other in Belfast, NIRE. I intend to go visiting.

Earlier in the day, most of the 2000 marshalls and a few randomly chosen 2001 marshalls got to go to 10 Downing Street. I am so jealous. Both the Prime Minister, Tony Blair, and our Secretary of State, Colin Powell, were on hand. They all got to meet/talk to them and take pictures. I doubt that next year we will be so lucky. :(

The way back, was not so much fun. As I said in order to keep my voice going, I had drunk WAY too much orange juice. This meant having to use the restroom on the train twice (ugh). Then just one stop before Milton Keynes, the train driver came over the PA and said that due to work-force problems the train would be terminating at that stop. Everyone was to get out and wait for the next train to Milton Keynes in a half an hour. Wonderful! Me, sore throat and throbbing head sent to wait in the cold (just about freezing) night with only my nice black coat. It was purchased with Atlanta in mind, and is rather light weight. There were no staff at the station, and the lobby was only luke warm, but better than nothing. So we all waited and grumbled. The really annoying thing is that surely they knew before we departed Euston in London, that the train was only going so far... We could have waited in a nice warm pub or cafe for a later train, but no. Well I doubt my cold is better for it.

On a happy note. I am now officially a student member of the Royal Aeronautical Society. Oooh, aaah. I think it is very cool, they actually vote on your membership...

previous - next