Entered on 2001-12-13 at 8:01 a.m..

A new civilian adult

Today I turn 23, and with it am no longer a full fledged military dependent. Nor, according to either of my parent's health insturance am I any longer a dependent. So, essentially I am much more of an adult than when I turned 18.

In a way it is a rather sad day. I was brought up in military communities. When we went grocery shopping we went to the commisary, and I still catch myself saying that 5 years after moving away from home. I see a flight surgeon, not a "doctor." I've never really had a doctor in my life. I still find that I can relate to any member of a military family, no matter where I am in the world. Now I'm not even allowed on base by myself.

I find it funny that next year another marshall scholar will come to cranfield to study. He will be a newly minted 2nd Lieutenant in the USAF. Already after speaking to him, I can tell that I know so much more about life in the Air Force than he does. Maybe I'll just let him learn on his own, don't want to scare the boy.

On a happy note, I'm feeling better. My head has stopped pounding, and I can breathe:) Yesterday I saw a Peruvian doctor, who doesn't believe in sudafed (pseudaphedrine). I actually had to locate the spelling of the drug in his little pocket book of "drugs you are allowed to prescribe in the UK." Then I got a lecture about the different theories on medicine. "In the US," he told me "you pay for your health care, so you can get whatever you want. Here people do not pay, so we cannot afford to do things the same way." This attitude really annoys me for several reasons. First UK taxpayers do INDEED PAY for the health care they receive. Second I thought the theory of medicine was to do whatever was necessary for the patient regardless of cost.

I miss Tech's health center. Atleast the doctors there, had vitals taken before issuing antibiotics. This doc merely tapped on my sinuses, and shined a light toward my throat.

previous - next