Entered on 2002-01-10 at 8:29 p.m..

Piece and Quiet

It may seem like a strange thing to say, but I'm lonely. There is just too much quiet in Cranfield. After four years of living surrounded by the constant noise of classes, ASDL, the student center, student services building, and just Tech in general, the silence is driving me nuts. My roomates will find this particularly humorous since I used to have to sleep in earplugs to drown them out.

Perhaps I should clarify why specifically now these feelings have set in. First of all Cranfield has not exactly awoken from the Christmas holidays yet, as most students don't return to classes until next week. Among those missing are my two friendly roomates: Flow and David. Second just returning from home, with constant family conversation as well as TV and radio all add to the din. Lastly my head hasn't quite unfogged yet from the cold, so I'm having trouble hearing anyway.

I don't know, I guess I just wish making friends didn't take so long, or require walking out in the cold.

Things should pick up soon. David, Flow and associated entourage should be back next week. I should be fit enough to devote my self to Volleyball again soon, and the sun is coming up earlier and earlier (this is a very slow process). All reasons things are looking up; I've just got to get through this weekend. Any suggestions?

previous - next