Entered on 2002-01-13 at 1:36 p.m..

Exploring Milton Keynes

Saturday was a very good day, even if the sun did decide to go into hiding around 11:30 in the morning. I went into Milton Keynes for a shopping trip. I'm not sure why, but shopping always makes me feel normal. I went to Argos first and picked up a voltage adaptor for my cd player, so it can stop eating rechargable batteries.

Then it was on to the central shopping area. It was quite scarry because there is a lot of traffic and very narrow roads. I managed it alright, and parked behind the library. I walked through the formal shopping areas and into the flea-market area, where you can buy just loads of stuff. I went over to the kitchen and bath supply booth and purchased a brick of toilet paper, a large pack of sponges, and some liquid soap. The stuff is reasonably priced, (which compared to how much you'd otherwise pay for it is dirt cheap)and comes in a variety of languages other than english. You just know that these guys drive a truck across the chunnel every month or so and buy things in Europe dirt cheap and smuggle them back in. It's nice to know that I'm keeping the black market alive.

While meandering around the market telling myself that I didn't really need this and that, I came upon a candy booth that had a certain kind of german marshmallow-gellatin candy that I have been looking for for 3 years. I was very happy. I should have bought more than one pack, because I've already eaten it all.

I made my way back to my little purple car (which has been starting just fine) and put the the brick of TP in the trunk. Then I headed back towards the library. I figured they might have some good literature on cycling in the area as well as cycyling and photography clubs. Since leaving Tech I have discovered this strange substance most people call free time. I'm struglling with what to do with it, but figured cycling and photography, might work just fine. To my delight, Milton Keynes has tons of parks and cycle routes (that I can ride on weekeknds). I came home loaded down with all kinds of information.

Later that afternoon, I hadn't quite spent enough money for the day, so David and I headed out for Tesco. It tooks us the better part of 2.5 hours to do our shopping, as the two foreigners looked up and down each aisle looking for familiar products. I admit we did a really good job canvasing the place. I still didn't find peanut butter, instead something called snickers spread. I also cannot seem to find non-fresh mozzarella. Despite these set backs, I am enjoying asking for all of these different products, and the ensuing reaction.

Today I am relaxing with my brochures and my recently purchased Harry Potter books. All of the books have gone on sale from the scandalous price of 5.99 or 6.99 a piece, to a more reasonable 3.84. I am also looking forward to hearing from my parents, Brian, and possibly even Becca sometime this evening. Anyone got any suggestions for dinner?

previous - next