Entered on 2002-01-21 at 8:53 a.m..

Milton Keynes by Bicycle

This Saturday dawned a beautiful sunny day and a few hours later I woke up and decided to go for a bike ride around Milton Keynes using a route suggested by my new cycling book. So I got dressed in several layers of shirts, an old pair of jeans and my hiking boots. I went and got my car rack for my bicycle and put in on the back of the little purple car and as my hands froze from the freezing wind (sustained 15mph) I seriously reconsidered whether I should go or not. So I got my bicycle out of the shed and rode it around the campus for a few minutes to see if I could stand the cold. To my surprise the wind was not nearly as much of a factor when I was riding accept when I was riding directly into the wind.

I loaded up the bicycle onto the car and headed towards Milton Keynes about 4 miles away. I parked at one of MK's many parks and began my treck. It was a beautiful ride on a series of paved foot paths that run all over Milton Keynes. I rode through the park and followed a river through some pastures where I found some sheep grazing. I continued following the river until I hit another lake. A quick trip around that lake and back to where I began. All in all, I only rode about 14 miles but spent about 2 and a half hours at it.

The entire time I was riding, the sun was out and shining brightly, but as I was heading home it began to rain. The heavens opend up just after I got my bicycle off the rack and put the rack back inside the house. It rained for a good two hours and then was gone. Ah, I love the weather in this country. The amazing part was that the rain began to fall around 2pm. Just 4 hours earlier when I checked the weather report, there was no mention of showers (that in and of itself is amazing in this country).

The rest of the weekend was good too. The men's volleyball team played cambridge on Saturday and lost a valiant fight. Yesterday I had to work to get ready for Boeing's visit. In the evening, however I watched videos at a friends then came home to watch parts of Jerry McGuire with my roomates.

Now its back to work.

previous - next