Entered on 2002-01-24 at 10:51 a.m..

Good bye to the MGC

Well its a sad day in the Feigh household as we say good bye to a longstanding member of the family. Yesterday the Mighty Gold Car was handed over to the Salvation Army. To perhaps help someone in the Hampton Roads area get back on their feet. Below is an short piece my dad wrote about the MGC. Those of you who knew my family must have known about the car. And probably more than a few of you have ridden in it over the years; so I thought you deserved to read this as well.

For those of you who didn't know my family very well, the Mighty Gold Car is my family's 1979 Toyota Corolla. We purchased it shortly after I was born, although in reality it is older than I am. It has been with us ever since and hardly ever given us problems.

T'was a sad morning this morning, and another one will happen soon. I went to the Salvation Army and signed away the title to the MGC. It was very unceremonious, though I knew a brass band was out of the question. It will be harder still when they come to take him away. I still remember him coming home from the dealership the first time. I used to put a pillow down in the garage for him to sleep on because he was so small. I recall your mother putting a blanket on him when he kept bumping his bumper in the garage, kind of like a helmet. He still has the anchor bolts from the twin car seats that certain little people used to use. He enjoyed the sandhills of North Carolina, boogey boarding in Hawaii, driving over the Mississippi River into St Louis (even with your Mother at the controls), his own parking spot in front of my squadron and being immortalized on a plaque when I gave up command in Arkansas, and all the trips through the Hampton Roads Bridge-Tunnel. I also remember his first night outside when the WBC showed up, and the indignation he must have suffered through when the White van replaced the Black van. He never complained. And as for his not quite making it home with Steve over Christmas, well, he just got old. Maybe we'll him meet again, in another world. He surely earned his place in our family's history, clutch not withstanding.

Dad

previous - next