Entered on 2002-02-11 at 8:22 a.m..

A bleak February morning

Its just the kind of morning that makes it all the more difficult to drag your body out of bed because you know the weather outside is windy, wet, and cold. Only a little over a month until spring :) I hear that spring will be windy, wet, and not quite so cold.

This weekend was rather un-eventful. I had a volleyball game on Saturday which the other team forfeited, but we scrimaged anyway. I also went grocery shopping on Saturday and found low-moisture motzerrella chees, called pizza motzerrella here. I also found out that the specialty cheese counter sells montere-jack cheese. It was a good cheese discovery day. I didn't however find any yellow squash. I find here that shopping in chain grocery stores is a lot like shopping at Big Lots, where they have little to no control on the products they stock. You never know what they are going to have instock. If I were Tesco I'd be very scared of ASDA for that reason.

Sunday dawned a beautiful morning, the sun was blazing, the wind had died down to only 5-10mph. I went to church and am convinced that our priest is one of the worst sermon preparers and givers in the Anglican church. The upside is that the prayers of the people are wonderfully done. I guess you cannot have it all. That afternoon I worked some more, slowly making progress.

The highlight of the weekend was a movie on Sunday with a large group of Cranfielders. We all watched Monster's Inc. It was very cute, and a good way to end the weekend.

Quote of the day

"The decision-making process of implementing new technology is now in the hands of politicians and accountants who are understandably poorly equipped to provide the much-needed leadership."

~John Beukers~

previous - next