Entered on 2002-04-02 at 8:16 a.m..

My Easter Weekend

Well it was nice and relaxing, almost boring. The boring part was my fault, but that only creeped in on Monday, when I just didn't fee like reading the 60 page report that finally showed up from Boeing.

Saturday was fun, I went into Milton Keynes and walked around the mall. They have some very weird clothing stores. I have finally found where all of the stuff that comes off of the fashion runways, but never makes it to most of the US, ends up. I tried on some of the weirdest tops and trousers, but either they didn't fit, looked ridiculious, or were just too expensive. Then I went to a store called Halfords, which is a car part/bicycle part store. I was in heaven. I finally spent some of the Christmas money I had received for my car, and bought some essentials like Rain-X, windshield washer mix, tire pressure gage... That afternoon, I went over to Laura's for an English Bar-B-Que. It was a lot of fun. I've never seen so much wine or champagne served at a BBQ before, but to each there own. I had a great time, lots of food!!! The evening broke up with the announcement of the Queen Mother's death. It was great to be around natives. We basically packed up the food, utensils, and everything else and headed back inside, where we watched TV and made a cup of Tea. Yes tea seems to be the universal nervous tick in Britian.

While I was sympathetic to the Queen Mother's death, the more tragic event in ost of the lives of Cranfield students was that BBC 1 switch over to exclusive coverage of the Queen's life and times. One of the ladies at the BBQ said that the BBC must be so excited, they finally get to roll the footage they've been compiling for years. The take over of one channel for a couple of days may not seem bad to anyone in the states, but here that was 1/4 of our viewing choice. We are now in the middle of 9 days of national mourning. I'm not sure what that means exactly, but I'll ask around.

Sunday I went to church in Moulsoe, the little village that I pass on my way into Milton Keynes. It is just a small village church with a supply priest. I've never had a service go so fast. Mostly because the priest did everything, and also because as his fourth service of the day any feeling that he had for the service had long since vanished. His sermon was good though, and that made me happy. Due to the time change here, though I almost didn't make it.

After church I worked on my car. I rain-x'ed the front and back windshield, and my headlights. I also checked all of the fluids, and generally made sure that the engine looked like the picture in my book. I also repaired some scratches and other holes in the paint.

Monday was pretty much useless. I went to Argos in the morning to get a bedside lamp, and David came along to get a battery recharger for his new digital camera. So we got there, ordered our stuff and sat down to wait for our number to be called. Now when my number was called they didn't have the lamp. Nope dispite what the inventory computer says, the only lamp they had was on display. They wanted me to take it without even offering a discount. The display lamp had a dented and dirty lamp shade--no deal. So they are going to deliver one to me on Wednesday. (I'm not holding my breath.) Which leaves me with a box of lightbulbs and no lamp...

In other news my email account has disappeared. Yep, all the email on my account is gone, and I cannot send email out through my cranfield account. At first I thought it was a practical joke, but nope, probably lost another server.

previous - next