Entered on 09 May 2002 at 8:23 a.m..

Eye check

Today I continue my foray into British medicine as I go for my bi-annual eye exam. This is when I get to see if I'm becoming more or less blind with time. I also get to see (has anyone else caught the puns?) what nifty new things that the optician will try to sell me.

Contacts are very similar to tennis shoes. You find a kind that you like, and by the time you want a new set they don't sell them any more, so you have to 'upgrade' and pay more.

I haven't had the best track record with eye exams, the two that I had at GT, I was yelled at both times. This all stems from the question, "which one is better, 1 OR 2?" to which my answer was sometimes, "I don't know, or there isn't really any difference." The GT people didn't like this answer, and so they yelled at me. I have no doubt that I've been wearing the wrong prescription for the past 4 years because they weren't able to cope with my answers.

If it goes badly or interestingly, I'll let you know tomorrow.

Becca, have you fallen off the face of the earth? No more journal entries?

previous - next