Entered on 22 May 2002 at 11:31 a.m..

Mom Comes Tomorrow

My mom arrives tomorrow morning so I'm signing off for a week.

Still lots to do before she arrives: clean & vacuum my room, do a load of laundry, wash & clean the car.

All of this sounds easier than it is, particularly the vacuuming. In order to vacuum my room I have to track down a working vacuum and haul it back to my room, vacuum, and then haul it back to whomever I borrowed it from. But before I return it, I have to drive my car up to the front door to my house so that I can vacuum out the inside of it. We have no external plugs so I have to stretch the cord from somewhere inside the house. Then drive down to the powerwasher to try to get the various tree droppings off of the car.

The boys have all been briefed as to my mother's arrival, and I've never seen the kitchen so clean. It is like I've put the fear of God into both David and Flo.

Dad, I'm counting on you & Steve to see that she adhears to my what-to-bring and what-not-to-bring lists.

previous - next