Entered on 04 June 2002 at 9:12 a.m..

Day 2 of the Golden Jubilee Bank Holiday

Despite assurances from my office mates that they would be in both Monday and Tuesday, I sit here all alone with my code running in the background. It's not fair, the days that I have code running and nothing better to do than go around and talk to people, no one is in. Of course that is one of the great things about doing a graduate degree in the UK. The sutdents here seem so much more relaxed about things. At GT, no one takes holidays off. Someone might be really radical and suggest an early dinner out, but actually taking the day off just because it is a Federal or State holiday is pretty much unheard of.

It could be that is because the Faculty don't take holidays either. If your supervisor is in and you aren't, this is usually a bad thing.

The good news is that the weather outside is crap, so I'm not really missing out on any fun filled excitment to be here. Maybe people will start showing up around lunch time.

I'm still searching for Jen O. If anyone knows where she is or has the ability to have her call me, my number is +44 874967162 x8792 or +44 7947075297

previous - next