Entered on 06 June 2002 at 8:22 a.m..

Checking In

June is traditionally the month where everyone begins to 'check in' with one another. Mass emails get sent out in a christmas card fashion, although because most of my friends don't have a spouse or children, the emails are mostly about my friends themselves.

This year, I've started the ball rolling early with some people I haven't heard from in a while. The problem is that now after most of us are out of college, keeping up with email addresses has proven to be much more difficult than I thought. So far I've lost both John Lang and Colin's (civilian) email address. If anyone knows them, please drop me a line I've refrained from a mass email, but think that maybe it is time that I put one together. If nothing else it would be a good excuse to amass everyone's email address that I want to continue my friendship with.

I must admit it is fun to see how people's lives unfold with the strobe light effect produced by these 'checking in' emails. Some of my friends have followed the path, I knew they would. Others have followed their hearts and conscience. Still others have changed more than I thought possible. The good news though, is that they are all still with us.

previous - next