Entered on 24 June 2002 at 8:36 a.m..

More of the Same

This week is more of the same: programming and trying to figure out how the program should be structured. Trying to figure out how to test the programs (bit by bit) and other annoying bits. Next week, though I'm off to Amsterdam in the Netherlands to visit Amy Pritchett on of my professors at GT. I'm really looking forward to that, and hoping that the weather will be good.

Serious Rant

OK, so I was watching a BBC documentary on Iraq last night, which was fairly representative or slightly Western leaning. It just got me fired up. How can 'leaders' have so much pride and contempt for others that they starve and deprive their own people. The documentary took cameras in to the Kurdish areas that the Iraqi (read Sadam and cohorts) bombed during the war with Iran. Not just normal bombs but ones with combinations of Sarin and Mustard Gas. They showed some of the victims of the attack.

Dear God. I won't even try to describe the effects of Mustard and Sarin gas, if you want to know more just go rent 'The Rock'

Sometimes when I hear talk of war, I think, surely there is some other way. But then when you see what this regime is capable of, and on supposedly its own people, a terrible fear grips me. Along with a terrible reality, maybe war is the only way. Not something I wish to think about often. Also a terrible sense of hopelessness and guilt. How fortunate I am to be able to complain about the NHS taking over two weeks to process a simple X-RAY.

You come to the conclusion that Reality is all realative. Reality for me, is not the reality that most live with and in. I was also insensed that the good guys always obey the rules.

Why is it that we can smuggle narcotic drugs into the US, but cannot smuggle useful medicines out and under the UN's upturned nose, to those who need them? Is it simply a matter of money, pattent rights, or just a lack of glory for the operatives?

Where are the modern day Robin Hoods? Why can't the US or some wealthy donors, create a covert group whose purpose is to do the jobs the UN cannot because it is respecting the 'soverign rights' of various countries. Why can't we smuggle medicine, food, and other neccessary items into an underground network to see them distributed? And the answer hits me, a network such as this flies in the face of everything I know to be true about human nature. Still, why not fly in the face of human nature?

These were all the thoughts that were floating around my brain last night.

previous - next