Entered on 01 August 2002 at 8:40 a.m..

August

I cannot believe that it is August already. Where did the summer go? Right now it is cloudy and rainy and about 65 degrees. I'm not sure I'm going to make it through another winter with out one of those UV lamps over my desk.

Not much to talk about here today. Things are wrapping up for the MSc students, the majority of the people here are MSc students. Yesterday I helped out one of my friends in the Human Factors MSc by sitting in two different aircraft evacuation simulators and then filling in a questionaire. For an hours trouble I was compensated �7. Which is phenominal considering that minimum wage in Britian is �4.20 an hour.

Yesterday Brian and I spent the afternoon trying to get a program called Latex up and working on my computer. Latex is a free alternative to MSWord. It has it's strong points and it's bad points. But considering that Word is already causing me headaches with only small documents, Latex might be worth learning for the whole thesis thing. Plus a lot of conferences and journals come with Latex templates (which are the tricky parts to use).

previous - next