Entered on 06 August 2002 at 8:25 a.m..

Life & Death

Which is harder, losing a loved on in the prime of their lives or watching them grow old and die?

I've been on the perifery of both kinds of loss, more closely with the latter. Early this morning I lost another icon in my life. My great-grand father must have been 96 years old, and in my mind he had't changed in the past 25 years, or since I'd known him. A stuborn and kind-hearted italian man who loved to play golf, barter at the shops and collect stamps. As with most of my extended family I only saw him occasionally, most recently at my Papa's funeral. Funny how somepeople are always a part of the background. Great-grandpa was always there. And right next to him was my great-grand mother, a French-Canadian who defied all the rules of society to marry an Italian. They'd been married for over 70 years, and rarely separated. I don't think it will be long before she will be gone too.

But how can you mourn a loss like that? Isn't it the way we all want to go? My great-grandfather had been driving up until 2 years ago, and he and my great-grandmother still live in their own house. Yes, strangely, I think this is a true cause to celebrate life.

previous - next