Entered on 27 September 2002 at 10:55 a.m..

Long Day at 11am

So yes it has been a long day and it's not even half over yet. It began early this morning when I drove home from the train station at midnight. Then it continued when I came home to find that the cleaners had finally arrived, and had thrown everything that wasn't labled (logical or not) away. So I immediately went out to our garbage bin to search for stuff. I didn't find much so I went to bed. Now I didn't really get to sleep until 2am because I was preocupied trying to remember what I couldn't find in the house.

Then at around 8 this morning I decided to make myself a cup of tea, and I took further stock of the situation when I realized that they had throw away all of our tupperware, all of the manuals for the appliances (including my pressure cooker), my rubber gloves, my sponge, any food which wasn't explictly labled (inculding my set of grapefruits, homemade applesauce, & half a dozen eggs). Then in the living room I noticed that they had trashed all of the hangers on the coat rack, the sombrero (sp?), and the salt (which was labled). So I went back out to the bin to inspect. When I found all of my food. So I fished the food, and the tupperware and a few other things out of the bin. As I did I noticed a chocolate chip cookie.

Now I had left the cleaners a plate of cookies (covered in cling-wrap) with a note thanking them for a good year. That did it, I was tired, sick and completely miserable standing outside in my PJs, tennis shoes and coat fisihing my food out of a trash bin. I marched the cookie straight over to Lanchester Reception to ask why it was that all of the tupperware, instructions & my cookies. had been thrown away. Roy, the guy in charge, calmed me down and sent me home with the promise of looking into it and getting me a new pair of gloves. On my way back I decided just to peak in the trash can of our neighbors since they were sitting right next to each other. In it I found the sombrero, my scarf, all of the instructions, the rubber gloves and the salt(clearly labeled). Now the scarf put me back into a rage. My nice scarf from Russia had been hanging neatly on the coat rack and they just threw it away. Now why they didn't throw the Playboy video that they guys left me instead of my scarf I have no idea.

I then proceded to wash all of the tuperware (and do we have a lot), take a bath and come in to work. I feel ok, but my throat hurts. I'm just having a bad day.

The upside is that the sheep have been put into the pasture next to me, so I'll have a little company. Baa.

previous - next