Entered on 09 October 2002 at 8:48 a.m..

Meeting with NATS

Sorry about not updating yesterday, but I left for Bournemouth at 7am and didn't get back until late. I had a meeting with NATS (national air traffic service) the privatized air traffic control service here in the UK. The meeting went really well, and I got a lot of support from the group I spoke with. Unfortunately they are in the position that there isn't much research going on now, because of privatization and the downturn in air traffic cash is tight.

In other news, Star Wars V, "The Empire Strikes Back" was on TV last night. So I watched it with two of my roomates (they didn't watch the whole thing, so it was only one at a time). My French roomate told me that he had never seen any of the movies, and as he watched, he commented that Luke was, "in a bad situation." Which caused me to laugh and reply that Luke spends the all three movies "in a bad situation." I also got to explain later on what the literary concept of foreshadowing was to my roomate from N. Ireland. Now I'm not sure if he didn't get it, or we just didn't understand each other. Our accents sometimes get in the way, leading us to have conversations full of repitition.

previous - next