Entered on 14 October 2002 at 12:23 p.m..

Driving Test

This morning I took my first ever driving test. That's right I never took one in Virginia, because my instructor was allowed to pass me. So for 40 minutes I meandered around a town attached to Milton Keynes called Bletchley.

At one point the examiner even made me do a parallel park. Not that this is difficult, but that my instructor had specifically told me that at the Bletchley driving center, they don't do parallel parks. So I had never done one in my car, and probably hadn't done one in several years in any car. Well I hit the curb, which is usally a direct failure, but I don't think that she noticed. Because I didn't hit it in mid stride, I just realized that I had come to rest on it. I then proceeded to start again, this time getting it right.

Well my ruse worked and I passed, with only a minor fault during the parallel park and a few other minor faults elsewhere.

Yeah, I'm legal again. And in addition, I'm legal all over Europe until the age of 70 (or until they change the rules).

previous - next