Entered on 25 October 2002 at 9:38 a.m..

Fire Scare

Yep that's right one of my roomates tried to burn the house down last night.

I woke up at around 4am this morning and smelled burning wood. At first I found this strange that the inside of my bedroom should smell like someone had a wood burning stove, but I thought well maybe I left my windows open (as several houses around have such stoves), but then I thought no I didn't. Then I heard some doors open and close several times and thought, that's strange that anyone is awake at 4am, but maybe their windows are open. The bedroom wasn't smokey, but the smell was just too strong. So I decided to get up and take a look.

As I walked out I saw Karl standing in his bedroom doorway. I asked him if he smelled smoke, and he mumbled something akin to "what?" and walked back into his room. So I proceded downstairs only to find Karl's wok and it's charcoaled remains on the stove on a high setting. I took it off the hob, and turned the stove off. I then went upstairs and informed Karl that his food was "done". He seemed confused, so I asked him if he had anything cooking. He said that he didn't remember cooking anything, but I told him that someone was most definitely cooking something and that they were using his wok. Eventually I convinced him and he walked downstairs and bangged around for a while.

This morning the house reeks of burnt wood. All caused by the bottom half of a wooden spoon, which is no more.

Yep that was a pretty scary experience. Good thing I've got a good nose for smoke. MATH Adendem For those of you who might possibly be reading this and have not yet chosen a career, esp. if you are leaning towards engineering. If you can recall back to when you first learned trig functions and their inverse and your teacher tried in vain to get you to memorize the boundaries of these functions. Well let me just say that for a small fraction of the population forgetting these things will come back to bite you. I've just lost 2 hours of my life to them, and I'm sure to lose more.

previous - next