Entered on 07 November 2002 at 8:56 a.m..

On the road again...

Yesterday I had a lovely meeting with my supervisor, where he completely tore up my thesis (it seems that I make broad sweeping statements without backing them up). That and I'm naturally wordy. So just as I was about to leave he drops the bomb, that he is leaving in April to go to another university. Great, just great. I finally get settled in here and now this.

As I understand this rather universal problem, I have two options. I can stay or I can go. Now if I stay, I will be assigned a new official supervisor, even if I still continue to see my supervisor at his new school. This is not really a good option for me because there isn't really anyone else here doing this kind of thing. My second option to go, is much more likely. Basically I just pick up and move and transfer my registration up to the new university. This way I am still in my supervisor's life. Of course this option involves a lot of starting over again. So I'm looking in to the new school and will make my decision some time later.

Ah, never a dull moment.

previous - next