Entered on 27 November 2002 at 8:38 a.m..

Thanksgiving Prep

The day before Thanksgiving and all through Cranfield Americans are struggling to find the time to come and eat tomorrow. Yep over the past two days I've received 1 definitely won't be there, 2 gonna be late's, and a few other random, do we have to cook our stuff before we come's.

Oh well, if this continues we're gonna have a lot of left over Turkey. I think the turkey is thawing nicely. The bag around the turkey has puffed, so I hope it isn't rotting in there, but I take it as a good sign that the turkey is thawing properly. Not too much to worry about as it gets cooked tomorrow.

I taught Charlie how to make a pumpkin pie last night. In the end, he was rather impressed with himself. It isn't really that hard, since he bought some prefab pie crusts already in the tin. So we are now the proud owners of 4 pumpkin pies.

Ever since my roomates saw me baking cookies/banana bread, my roomates have been amused. They continued to be amused last night as they saw me struggling with pie crust, flour up to my elbows . I can only imagine their amusement tomorrow when I wash and stuff the turkey.

On a side note, Brian is in search of a ham to take to his Thanksgiving party. don't ask why a ham, he was given orders to bring a ham, so that's what he's trying to do So needless to say it has been quite and adventure, because dispite the fact that the Germans seem to do everything immaginable to ham, the don't, it seems, pre bake them. So if anyone out there has lived in Germany and knows a good equivalent to a baked ham, or even the correct terminology, Brian would be extremely grateful for your assistance.

previous - next