Entered on 13 January 2003 at 8:56 a.m..

Back to Work

Well it has been a long, and mostly restfull 3 weeks. I returned from the US on Thursday/Friday and have spent the weekend running errands, cleaning my room and generally tying up loose ends. I'm sure this week will prove to be much more of the same only from a work aspect.

While at home I had a lot of time to think, which is not always a good thing. I started to come to some conclusions about what I wanted out of this phase of my education. I came to the conclusion that to get what I wanted is a little wide of the path I have set my self on, so I then had some decisions to make. Some I have concluded, and others I am still pondering.

The first conclusion is that I would like to get my Master's on my way to my Ph.D., if for no other reasons than as a fall back and to mark my time at Cranfield. The second is that I am going to take a brake from full-time thesis work to take at least two semesters of classes. These two conclusions bring me to one of my biggest conundrums, with a master's degree under my belt, and with the goal of taking some classes, should I stay on in England to finish up my work at Sheffield (dpt. of Automatic Control), or should I return to the US and finish up my work at Georgia Tech (ISyE).

I have narrowed it down to these two choices because I have 3 years of funding left, which is not much time to complete a Ph.D. in the US. And no matter where I go, I don't want to gamble on another blind supervisor choice.

There you have it. Karen's big conundrum. What to do, what to do. I welcome any comments/suggestions, you all know where to find me :)

previous - next