Entered on 01 February 2003 at 8:44 a.m..

Where's the snow?

The weathermen/women got it wrong again. We didn't really get any accumulation of snow, just lots of driving bitter winds. I've never seen the arrows on the map come straight down from the north pole before. The wind was absolutely bitter yesterday! When I walked home for lunch against the 20mph winds my nose, eyes, cheeks and forehead were stinging. It was even worse when I walked home at night.

The poor heater in our house just couldn't handle it. Normally we set it between 68-70 degrees, and it copes reasonably well, but the past two nights we've set it at 75 and it has still not risen above 65 in my room. The good news is that I have lots of blankets, but the bad news is it is really hard to get out of bed in the morning when your room is about 63 degrees. Hopefully now that the bitter winds have gone, the temperature will rise to something more reasonable.

previous - next