Entered on 18 February 2003 at 9:17 a.m..

Who's on First

Yesterday I had a very interesting meeting with my adviser which lasted for 2 hours. Why so long you may ask, well it turns out that my supervisor had a vastly different idea of what I was doing than I had. I'm not really sure when his reality and my reality parted ways, but apparently it was a while ago. I sat there in the meeting rather dumbfounded as he explained over and over again what he thought I was doing and he then sat there befuddled while I explained over and over again what I thought I was doing and why what he thought I was doing would take me the rest of my life. Or in other words, was a PhD in and of itself. This is why it is nice to have research groups. Some poor soul, like me starts it off by building a simulator and doing some basic work with it. Then the next sap along will modify the sim and make it better to do what they want to do with it. And on and on until you get to really complex stuff.

The really annoying thing was that I went in with 5 things to say/discuss and we spent about 30 minutes total on them. GRRR...

The good news is that the sun has been out and the wind has been down so it has been really nice here. Freezing, but nice.

previous - next