Entered on 18 March 2003 at 9:43 a.m..

Sock Crisis

I hope everyone had a good St. Patty's day. Mine was pretty good. I had two girls from work over for stuffed shells. They turned out really well, and by the end there were only 3 shells left. It was nice to have people over. As I've mentioned lately dinner has been a running affair in my house, with the TV as our primary source of entertainment and conversation.

Other than that, not much is up here. Work, work and more work. But I'm making progress and it is interesting.

I am however, in the middle of an athletic sock crisis. Because I wear arch inserts, I have found that normal socks get caught in between the side of my shoe an the arch support, which causes blisters on the side of my foot. To combat this I found some special socks which are 'scrunched' in the middle. Please remember that as an engineer, I can use scrunced as a technical term. These socks do not get caught on the side of my shoe, and thus no blisters. So I've had these magical socks for several years now, and while the scruncing is still going strong, the elastic around the ankel has died. So now when I wear them, the socks slowly work their way down to the middle of my foot where they lump. So I am in desperate need of new socks. The only problem is that these special socks seem to have disappeared from the face of the planet. How do I know this? Well Kathleen, world-recognized shopping expert, has declared it so. If Kathleen fails me, there is absolutely no hope for my feet. So everyone send supportive thougths my mother's way so that they may guide her to the store which sells 'scrunched' socks. Good luck mom, you are my only hope, because everyone knows that all socks in the UK must be imported, and any 'scrunching' is removed in customs.

previous - next