Entered on 21 March 2003 at 2:20 p.m..

French Accent

Last night Nicholas and I at dinner together and watched the war-frenzied news. It was proably rather ironic that the Frenchman and the American were watching it together in relative calm and piece. Then a french minister came on the TV to be interviewed, and Nicholas got up and left. On his way out he remarked that although when he first came over he couldn't hear a French accent, he can now. And he told me that it was horrible, and he couldn't stand it. He told me he didn't know how English people coud stand listening to French people speaking English. To which I shrugged and said we just pretend you are holding your nose. He laughed. I then asked him if it was just as bad the other way around, English speaking French. He said no, that it was quite pleasant.

So there you have it, even the French don't like French accents :)

previous - next