Entered on 31 March 2003 at 8:37 a.m..

Names

It has come to my attention over the past few years that I'm fairly oblivious to people's names. Not only in the usual, "I know this person, but I cannot remember their name" but also in the arena of textbooks, papers, books, movies, songs, etc. You name it and I'll probably remember the title, or what it was about but have no clue who wrote it, or sang it or acted in in. At least not their names. Recently this has led to some interesting quirks in my life where even after being prompted as to the importance or interest of someone's works, it still takes me years to put it all together. So I'm going to try to be more name conscious in the future. Must remember names...

My weekend was good, and very social. I went down to Windsor Castle on Saturday, with a bus load of Cranfielders. Hung out with Sarah (Spanish), Edith (Nigerian) all day and had a really good time. That evening I went out with Alan and Kelly, his girlfriend over from Ireland and had a blast. Sunday I lazed about reading a new book and doing laundry. Matt cooked a sunday roast with all the trimmings (very good). Afterwards, we of course went out to the pub and I met up with a Morrocan friend of mine. This prompted a discussion about current foreign affairs, which made me loose all track of time. At 9:45 I realized that I was late for Brian's call and promptly ended the conversatio UN style with nothing resolved. However the conversation and the parting were very amicable, so I'm not worried.

Now it is back to work, with only 1 day left on the Supervisor countdown.

previous - next