Entered on 07 May 2003 at 8:34 a.m..

FYI

On Monday at around 7pm in the evening after a day spent alone in the office (because it is was a bank holiday) my simulation finally began to run. I'm not sure if is working yet, because working would imply that it operates as I intended it to work, not necessarily how I programmed it to work. So it was definitely cause for a mild celebration. My only problem was that I was in no mood for a celebration, as I was really tired. My brain was definitely fogged in.

But I did have the good sense to backup all the files that had been altered up to that point, call it a soft backup. Soft because I am essentially just saving a version of the code in a folder to essentially benchmark my progress thus far. It would however still be vulnerable if my hardrive were to crash. To prevent this I do a hard back up about once a week.

Anyway back to the story. So foggy brain me was sitting here performing a soft backup of the last few days work (since getting back from Barcelona). When on the last file I accidentally save the .def file (where all of the procedure prototypes are kept) under the name of the .mod file. Not only do I save the back up version under the .mod name, but I also over write the current .mod version without realizing it. And poof the .mod file (with the ACTUAL) code is gone. If anyone out there knows a way to have a functional undo command in Linux, I'd love to know it.

So immediately panic sets it. I try to calm myself down by re-instating the last version, only to find out that I've since made changes that I cannot remember. Ack! Luckily I'd performed a hard back up to CD before leaving for Barcelona which had a more recent version of the file with all of the changes I had forgotten on it. So the lesson to all of you is to back up often, and not to perform file overwrites unless you are paying full attention to what you are doing!!!!

I apologize to all non-programmers as this probably seems pretty random, and to all programmers who already know this

previous - next