Entered on 06 June 2003 at 9:24 a.m..

Marshall Dinner

I'm back from my two day hiatus, back from London and the annual Marshall Graduation dinner. The dinner was wonderful as usual, with good food and lots of wine. Last night was rather special in many ways though, because I got to see many of my contemporary Marshalls for the last time. It is amazing how intense buzz that I come away from these functions is. Just to be around people who are not only as bright as they are, but who are intelligent, and who enjoy discussing the world around them. They are able to bring their various experiences to bear to almost any subject of conversation. My only complaint was that when I first met many of them, they didn't seem to have a sense of their own destiny, or their responsibility to this world. Last night that changed. When I noticed person after person seem to grasp this responsibility and commitment to the betterment of society. It was really uplifting.

The speeches were fantastic and of the variety that only the British can pull off. Last night the speaker managed to combine information in a former secret memo about US/British cooperation, monty python, peeing with former prime ministers, cricket and the most harrowing moment of the cold war.

At dinner I sat next to the PR guy from the American Embassy in London and a marshall who specializes in terrorism, failed states, and state building. Needless to say I did a lot of listening.

Most people will be leaving soon though. I feel very sad that I didn't get to know them better. But I know where I can find them, as they are almost all going to Yale law school. Just a few of us are doing different things. I'm going back to GT, my friend Alan is going to UVA law, Talia is going to Iowa and David is going Carnegie Mellon to do Math. Others are staying on here and a few are still undecided. And a few seem to have disappeared into the ether.

previous - next