Entered on 04 July 2003 at 8:39 a.m..

Two more down

Last Friday yet another of the long time residents of Student Shelter F51 turnded in her dissertation. It should have been quite a momentus moment as Jenny was a long time resident here before any of the rest of us set foot in the place. Unfortunately I was away last Friday, so I don't know what everyone did to celebrate. I have a feeling that the moment just passed silently by.

And then on Wednesday I found out that one of our most recent additions has decided to join the RAF instead of hacking her way through 3 more years of PhD work. I will be sad to see Kelly go, but have a feeling that she is making the right decision.

So the big question is now, who's gonna replace them? I hope they have some sort of personality. The office could use some livening up.

In another note, happy 4th of July everyone. This is just to prove that the British do indeed have a 4th of July. I heard that June used to have 31 days, so that July 4th could be skipped, but that after the British burned the White House in 1812, that July 4th was re-instated. I guess they figure their honor had been adequately avenged or something like that :) The problem with celebrating the 4th here though is that the sun doesn't go down until about 9:30 so it is really late by the time you can set fireworks off properly.

previous - next