Entered on 15 September 2003 at 7:54 a.m..

Alone Again

Yep, I'm alone again. My housemates moved out on Saturday, and now the house seems really empty. It is amazing how much I look forward to seeing them around and talking to them while cooking or eating dinner. I'm much better at leaving a place than being left. All day Saturday I was on the verge of tears as I watched everyone pack up and move out. Moving is always hard on me, and probably on everyone.

Yesterday I went out on my last great UK road trip out to the cotswolds to take a look around a national trust property and walk around. It was a beautiful day, sunny and 75, amazing. It will be a good way to remember the countryside here.

Then I came home and compiled a list of items to save from my house. Yep almost 10 years on from when we moved to a whopping 9 feet above sea level it looks like our luck has run out. Hurricane Isabel looks set to swamp Poquoson, literally. Looks like I might be doing a lot of DIY this christmas season. It is a strange feeling to try to figure out what things you absolutely don't want to lose in life, and those which it will be OK to let go of.

previous - next