Entered on 13 May 2004 at 8:40 a.m..

So much to say

I've got to find a consistent time to write this thing. I've got news to share and stuff to say, but I'm always forgetting to write it all down.

First, Dr. Pritchett had her baby boy on Sunday. Elliot Eric Johnson-Pritchet, EEJP for short, was born at 6pm weighing 8 pounds and 3 oz. Mom and baby were fine as of Monday night. Since then I've heard nothing, which is probably as it should be. To see pictures click here.

Second, Mr. Jenkins (I refuse to grant him anyother title) has been given an award by GT as the "Most Intellectual Professor" Jen, see there is no justice in the world! If you don't believe me you can go to here.

Lastly, I want to get my two cents in about this whole abuse of prisoners thing. Didn't any of these guys watch "A Few Good Men"? Because if not, now would be a good time for TBS to show it again. Maybe they did watch it, but maybe they just didn't understand the moral of the story. So let me recap: IT DOESN'T MATTER IF YOU WERE ORDERED TO ABUSE PRISONERS, YOU WERE BREAKING MILITARY LAW AND YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN IT! Being in the Military means obeying commands through thick and thin, but also not obeying commands which are clearly in violation of everything you have been taught with regard to POW treatment. If you are obeying commands in a battle situation, or in a situation where you must make life/death decisions under time pressure that is one thing, but in the relative safety of a prison, this is a lame excuse. I know that disobeying a command pretty much ends your military career and that sucks, but that is life. (It isn't like other militaries where disobeying this command was grounds for execution, as was the case in WWII axis forces) And since most of these guys are reservists anyway, the 'keep my job' excuse is pretty hollow. So to those who are hunting for the great conspiracy trying to discover which general or president ordered the abuse of prisoners, I say more power to you. But if you are searching merely to exhonerate the people who actually carried out the abuse, then you don't understand.

previous - next