Entered on 17 September 2004 at 9:04 a.m..

Adding a face to the names

It was bound to happen. With the high number of people that I know serving in Iraq (even if I didn't personally know that they were there) that eventually I would hear of someone's death. Still I the news took me somewhat aback. I heard the news on Tuesday that a former Tech student that I knew had been killed. I didn't even know him that well, but as they say, "the news hit a little too close to home" and put a human face, a personality to a name and to a number.

1st Lt. Tyler Brown was killed in while on duty somewhere near Baghdad on the 14th of September 2004. He was 26 years old, and a former GT class president. He will be the first person (and hopefully the last) burried at Arlington that I will know personally.

I cannot begin to understand what his parents and brother must be going through right now. All the rain and stormy weather we are experiencing right now seems somewhat fitting.

previous - next