Entered on 07 October 2004 at 9:11 a.m..

Illegal Lottery

Well this week has been a whirlwind of excitement. I've gotten tentative approval for my experiment from the Institutional Review Board. I was told that I was holding an illegal lottery by stating that I would give out two $10 gift certificates (to a local restaruant) all participants in my experiment. This is illegal because I do not have a license to conduct a lottery, and I did not give anyone who wanted to a chance to enter the drawing free of charge. Sigh. Does anyone ever wonder if we have just a wee bit too much trivial legislation? Every church group ever must be in vilation of this law. Sigh.

So I've been running around trying to get my experiment up and running. If you guys want to help out, feel free to take part in my preliminary runs. I'll post some excel spread sheets to my GT website (probably some time this weekend) and if you have excel XP or 2003 you can try out the tasks and tell me how long it takes you to complete them.

I must be off now, I've got reading to do..

previous - next