Entered on 2001-08-20 at 8:04 a.m..

Packing I

Last weekend I began my series of traveling south to Poquoson with all the other crazy Washington commuters. Why am I doing this? Quite simply I need to pack. Now as my best friend Becca can tell you, I can pack my entire room at college in one afternoon, so it may come as a shock to some of my friends that I have set aside three weekends (including labor day) to accomplish this, but I have. Quite simply, I figure it will take me longer because I cannot pack and ship everything. Thus every thing that goes into a box has passed stringent requirements to prove it necessity.

The process began last Friday when my mother and I started unpacking all of the boxes that had come home from Tech with me. The contents of each box were then strewn into piles: to be shipped, to be packed, to be tossed, and to be kept somewhere in the house. On Saturday then we began the process of re-boxing the to-be-shipped pile. When all of the dust settled we had 9 boxes for a total of 238lbs and 24 cubic feet worth of essential items. Personally I was quite impressed. Those of you who have ever helped me move into or out of any dorm room should also be impressed. My room has been likened to a white hole, where no matter how much material is removed, an infinite amount remains within.

This however is not everything. I still have to pack up my bicycle, computer, printer and shoes. All in all, the current estimate is that I will end up with 14 boxes, 480 lbs and 31 cubic feet. Why you might ask am I telling you how much volume and how much weight. In order to ship my stuff over it must first travel by boat, where they will charge me by volume, and second by truck where they will charge me by weight. Fun, fun, fun.

More to come later�

previous - next