Entered on 2001-08-29 at 7:57 a.m..

You�ve got Dissidents

That was the title of a story in this morning�s Washington Post about AOL�s possible venture into China. Apparently the company was discussing a range of possible media questions (funny since they are themselves a media giant) and one of them was, �What would AOL�s response be to request from the Chinese government to hand over names and email addresses of suspected Chinese dissidents.� The answer according to the article was to abide by the rules governing each country where AOL does business. Good ole AOL, always a voice for the people. I�m sure Becca will have an opinion on this, so have at it� I was just amused by the headline of the article. I was never very good at making up headlines for articles. I can only imagine the kicks that the staff must have gotten out of that one.

Continuing with the newspaper theme, I also read parts of the Technique yesterday online. Nope, Sarah, I didn�t read entertainment. It was different, but mostly because I didn�t get to point out problems to my roommates. I also didn�t have to go to class alone on Thursday and take notes/make excuses for Sarah or Becca. Nor did I get to hear any wild stories of deadline mayhem. It is also rather nostalgic to read about the people (underclassmen now upperclassmen) who have taken on the different offices/positions in student organizations around campus. Sarah C. is the Chief Justice of UJC instead of Charlie V. JR has been replaced by Chris K. at the top post of SGA. Chris B�s influence no where to be found in the Technique. Our ex-SGA VP on trial for stealing the T, claiming that he didn�t know about the new policy, which surely passed through SGA somewhere, that threatens to expel him. I laugh every time I think about it.

One final note to the hodgepodge. The 707 version of Airforce One will be retired to day and sent to the Reagan museum.

previous - next