Entered on 2001-09-04 at 8:11 a.m..

Karen out past 10

This weekend was great! I am so glad that I didn�t leave DC this weekend. If I had, I would have never truly felt as if I had lived here. This weekend a car full of people came up from Tech: Scott J., Trey C., Becky G., and Suja R. They originally came up to visit Sarah C. who is clerking at the Supreme Court. Isn�t that just amazing? I love claiming that I know her. When we all got together on Saturday night for dinner, it was as if we had seen each other yesterday. We talked about everything except politics, which pleased Scott and I greatly. Dinner took almost an hour and a half, we laughed so hard that most of us were clutching our stomachs by the end of the meal and threatening those telling the jokes. I need to mention that dinner was at a Libyan restaurant in Adam�s Morgan.

In one of the rare moments since arriving in DC, I felt completely at ease. I didn�t want the feeling to end, so we continued our adventures down to Dupont Circle and Larry�s Ice Cream, and then to the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. I finally returned home on the next to the last Metro a little before 2am

On Sunday we repeated our previous dining experience, this time adding more people and going Ethiopian. Talk about an experience. For some unknown reason our food took a really long time to come, so when it did we tore into it! This is easy to do when eating Ethiopian, because everyone is eating with their hands. There was little conversation during the 10 minutes everyone spent gorging themselves.

Afterwards we headed towards some sort of Trendy Caf�, where we ordered smores and tried not to torch the place. Heather came closest, and should have been a ME, as she was truly fascinated watching a marshmallow burn.

Earlier that day we had wandered around Georgetown, looking at all the buildings, and talking about all the differences between there and Tech. For one there were students actually lounging about with books. Tech students don�t lounge, and rarely do anything with books alone. Also we decided that you had to pass the beauty model test before being offered admission. All in all it was quite humorous to hear the same thoughts and statements coming from my friends about the students at Georgetown, that I had been feeling all summer.

In the end, I didn�t want them to go, but I will see most of them in two weeks. Suja is going to drag me to an ice cream place called Jake�s, that I managed to miss in my 4 years at Tech. I vaguely remember Sarah G. talking about Jake�s.

Back to work now.

previous - next