Entered on 2001-09-10 at 8:55 a.m..

70-0

I'm back. My last two days of work were very busy, and with the server down on Thursday it probably seems as if I'd abandonded the journal thing. Not to Worry

So my work for the summer is over! I'm rather pleased with myself, because I actually finished my project with time to write it up. I finished my paper on Friday morning and spent the rest of the returning things and tying up other loose ends.

On Saturday I picked up Sara and headed to Annapolis to watch the Tech v. Navy game. It was quite an adventure getting out of DC because some idot in DCDOT decided to close the entrance to Route 50 and not post any detour signs. So after a short jaunt around the greater DC area Sara and I found another way on to 50 and were off.

At the game we met up with Randy, some random freshmen PS (Katie G. included), Heather, a friend of hers, and the Krisingers. I was good to see everyone again, and dispite the different stadium, everything felt pretty much like a game at Tech. Until, that is, we went inside. First of all not everyone was wearing a bright neon swarm shirt, not eaven Heather who abandoned me and people weren't fighting their way to the front row. In fact we sat for most of the game! And was it a long game. I believe that the score after the first quarter was 20 to 0.

By the time Navy finally started charging down the field with any real hope of scoring, Tech was up 63 to zero in the top of the fourth quarter. Everyone from Tech was cheering for them, because it must be horrible to be forced to attend games where you are beaten so badly. They finally scored on a different drive and all of the Plebes (first year Navy Midshipmen) ran onto the endzone to pushups. Buzz was not impressed Tech scored again at the end of the fourth quarter and the final score was 70-7. Apparently that was the worst beating Navy has ever suffered in 120 years.

Right now I'm at home surrounded by boxes and piles of belongings. I keep sorting and throwing things away, but after four years of not really culling my stuff, it has gotten really out of hand. I figure I'll spend most of today and tomorrow getting everything ready to be shipped. Almost there...

I head to Atlanta on Friday!! We play Florida State at Florida (ugh) hopefully we'll do well.

previous - next