Entered on 2001-10-09 at 9:28 a.m..

More about life at Cranfield

Day two of my academic program and here I am in the library again about half past nine writing in my journal. Much to my dismay the library doesn't seem to open before 8:30, so there is no use arriving here at 8. I learned that yesterday, when I sat for an hour waiting for anyone/anything to start showing up. It also seems as if all of the classes start at around 9 here as well, so I got to have breakfast with my housemates this morning. I'm actually kind of glad that this is not a morning culture because having relatives on the East Coast makes for late night phone calls.

In weather news the sun is desperately trying to poke its head out of the clouds and to stop the wind. Its efforts are appreciated by all. Last night when my housemates and I made a quick dash to the Tesco-extra (large grocery store chain similar in appearance to a super walmart with more emphasis on food) for a few more things the temperature was reported to me as being between 12-13 degrees celcius.

Although I spent most of yesterday wandering lost from one administrator/secretary to another trying to figure out what I was supposed to be doing (if anything), today is looking much better. I hit a low at just before noon yesterday, but in the afternoon, I managed to find the people I was looking fore and get going on the right track.

I spoke to my advisor, Dr. Allerton. He is the head of all of the simulators here ,very cool,. He has a very calm, measured voice and manerisms. My dad asked me if he "talked funny", but he really doesn't have a very distinct accent of any kind. The only time I can tell at all is when certain words are pronounced differently. For instance, the other day I was or-e-en-tate-ed. This may sound rather odd, but when I listen to him I feel as if I'm listening to an older version of myself. Well at least so far.

I'm still working on the picture issue, maybe my stuff will arrive tomorrow or Thursday :)

previous - next