Entered on 2001-10-12 at 1:00 p.m..

My stuff is here!!

At a little before 10am this morning a large truck pulled up with my pallet full of boxes. I was so excited, and quite surprised that the boxes were still shrunk wrapped onto the pallet. I thought surely customs would have oppened a box or two, but apprently not. Needless to say everything arrived in good condition.

Unfortunately only David was home when the truck arrived, so he had the pleasure of helping me carry all of my stuff inside (not up the stairs, just inside) . We managed just fine as it was only a straight 20' walk into the house.

First item of business was to unpack linens and make my bed! It is now considerably more comforatable than it was, with a total of five additional layers: heated matress pad, fitted sheet, regular sheet, blanket, quilt. I also rescued my pillows from the smooshed state to which they had been subjected.

Next I unpacked all of the kitchen stuff. I labeled and washed what needed it. I am happy to have more glasses as well as a cheese grater. The pressure cooker will also come in handy as it will double as our only large pot. After watching my house mates cook, I also think that the flame-retardant oven mit will be quite useful.

Having conquered the kitchen I proceded to my computer. Now I have some words for Mr. Tourister and his voltage converter... I managed to only blow the circuit braker once. It is a good thing that all of my electronics computer, monitor, printer all convert from 240V by themselves so I only need an adapter. Right now I need to find an english power strip and at least one more addapter. Originally I had planned to plug all of my electronics into a US power strip and the power strip into the converter. I can tell you all now, that this doesn't work. Heather will have to explain why not. The good news is that now I know where the circuit breakers for the house are.

With my blanket, pillows, and computer I feel much better now. Unfortunately to day is shaping up to be absolutely gorgeous, so it is hard to convince myself to read journal papers. However, since my stuff is here I can go to Volleyball practice tonight:)

previous - next